Skip to content

About Us


International Certification of Digital Literacy (ICDL), formerly known as European Computer Driving Licence (ECDL), is the global standard in end-user computer skills certifications.

ICDL consists of a set of IT awards ranging from entry level digital skills certifications to intermediate and advanced certifications. Whether in school, university or in the workplace, ICDL offers the skills you need to succeed. ICDL enables individuals and organisations to assess, build and certify their competence in the use of computers and digital tools to the globally-recognised ICDL standard.

ICDL Certification is available in over 100 countries, across a network of more than 20,000 Test Centres, delivering over 70 million ICDL Certification tests to more than 16 million people worldwide.

ICDL Foundation, based in Ireland, is the worldwide governing body and licensing authority for ICDL certification programmes.

ICDL Malta

2000 – Launch of the ECDL Certification programme in Malta. Since then ECDL has gained tremendous popularity and support by government and local employers.

2005 – ECDL Malta has been named global winner of the New Licensee Award at the first ECDL Foundation Licensee Awards in Zurich. This award was presented to ECDL Malta in recognition of the high performance of ECDL in Malta.

2017 – ECDL Malta hosted the annual ICDL Foundation Forum attended by representatives from countries that operate ECDL/ICDL certification programme. This forum was an important event to celebrate the 20 years since the establishment of ECDL Foundation.

2022 – ECDL was rebranded to ICDL while ECDL Malta relaunched as ICDL Malta.

At present, ICDL consists of four programmes catering for every level of computer use experience, from complete beginners to expert end-users and users with specialised interests. We invite you to browse this website and embark on one of the ICDL Certification programmes:

ICDL Start
ICDL Workforce
ICDL Professional

2023 – ICDL Malta in collaboration with the Ministry for Education, Sport, Youth, Research, and Innovation, started issuing ICDL Certificates in digital form on the blockchain.